Governor Deal orders state of emergency for 13 counties

UPDATE: Tuesday, Georgia Governor Nathan Deal has issued an executive order for thirteen counties primarily on the Georgia coast for a state of emergency.

The state of emergency exists for the following counties: Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, and Wayne.

The order starts Wednesday, October 5 and ends October 12 at 11:59 p.m.

State of Emergency Executive Order

TYBEE ISLAND, Ga. (AP) – Residents along Georgia’s coast are keeping an eye on the weather as Hurricane Matthew moves northward toward the United States.

Tybee Island Mayor Jason Buelterman tells local media sources¬†that emergency management officials are telling local leaders the storm’s projected path has shifted over the last 24 hours and could still move again.

But he says the message is clear that coastal Georgia needs to keep a close watch on the storm as it passes Haiti and heads north for the southeastern U.S. coast.

Officials are having regular conference calls about the hurricane, and Georgia’s state emergency management agency says workers at its operations center are preparing for the storm.

The latest forecast from the National Hurricane Center has Matthew near the Georgia-South Carolina border by early Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s