WRBL’s Our Town Tour coming to Auburn on November 26th

WRBL's Our Town Tour coming to Auburn on November 26th (Image 1)
WRBL's Our Town Tour coming to Auburn on November 26th (Image 1)

After visits to Opelika, Warm Springs, Columbus, LaGrange, Americus, Chambers County, Phenix City and Eufaula, WRBL's “Our Town” tour will make its next-to-last stop in “The Loveliest Village on the Plain,” with a visit to Auburn on Tuesday, November 26th.

The station will broadcast “News 3 First Edition” (5 p.m. EDT/4 p.m. CDT) and “News 3 Early Edition” (6 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. CDT) from Toomer's Corner in Downtown Auburn. News 3's Teresa Whitaker and Phil Scoggins will anchor the newscasts live from the intersection of College and Magnolia, where Auburn fans have celebrated major victories through the years. The public is invited and encouraged to attend and see the production.

“I am personally very excited about 'Our Town' coming to Auburn this month,” said WRBL Vice-President and General Manager David Hart. “As a proud graduate of the university who now calls Auburn home once again, I know first hand what a great community it is. I can't wait to show our viewers what a welcoming and dynamic city Auburn is for them to explore and visit,” he said. 

The newscasts will feature special reports on the history of Auburn and the university as well as how the two institutions are connected culturally and economically. Local leaders will discuss their vision for the future of both education and the economy in Auburn.

The News 3 Sports team will also preview that weekend's match-up between Auburn and Alabama as the Tigers prepare to host their arch rivals at Jordan-Hare Stadium the following Saturday. 

“We'll use this visit to Auburn to focus on one of the fastest growing communities in WRBL's viewing area and to highlight the unique relationship between the city of Auburn and Auburn University,” added Hart. “And with the hot start Auburn's football team is off to, what better time to do it than Iron Bowl week?” he added.

All month long, First Alert Chief Meteorologist Bob Jeswald will feature a special “Our Town” forecast for Auburn leading up to the November 26th event.

The broadcasts will also feature live performances from local and/or university musicians.

The “Our Town” tour is part of a celebration of the station's 60th Anniversary. WRBL first went on the air on November 15, 1953.

blog comments powered by Disqus