WRBL’s Our Town tour coming to Chambers County on August 27

WRBL's Our Town tour coming to Chambers County on August 27 (Image 1)
WRBL's Our Town tour coming to Chambers County on August 27 (Image 1)

After visits to Opelika, Warm Springs, Columbus, LaGrange and Americus, WRBL's “Our Town” tour will make its latest stop in Chambers County on Tuesday, August 27th.

The station will broadcast “News 3 First Edition” (5 p.m. EDT/4 p.m. CDT) and “News 3 Early Edition” (6 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. CDT) from the Chambers County Courthouse in LaFayette. News 3's Teresa Whitaker and Phil Scoggins will anchor the newscasts live from the courthouse grounds. The public is invited and encouraged to attend and see the production.

“This month's ‘Our Town' newscasts provide a unique opportunity,” said WRBL Vice-President and General Manager David Hart. “We'll use this visit to Chambers County to focus on four major communities in WRBL's viewing area – LaFayette, Lanett, Valley and West Point, Ga. All four communities consider themselves part of the Greater Valley Area. And that gives us a chance to tell all of our viewers in both West Central Georgia and East Alabama all there is to learn about, see and do in this entire corner of our region.”

The newscasts will feature special reports on how the four communities are connected historically and economically. Local leaders will discuss their vision for the future of Chambers County.

“This is a part of our region that is clearly growing – and leading the way when it comes to luring and keeping international companies like KIA and respected institutions like Point University,” said Hart. “I think the spirit of cooperation and collaboration happening in Chambers County is something we can all learn from.”

In addition to the news reports, the newscasts will feature stories on local recreational and tourist attractions such as West Point Lake and the Piedmont Plateau Birding Trail. Reports on local sports teams will also be featured in the newscasts.

The broadcasts will also feature live performances from local musicians.

The “Our Town” tour is part of a celebration of the station's 60th Anniversary. WRBL first went on the air on November 15, 1953.

blog comments powered by Disqus